Wanderlust.

If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world, what would you do?

Let’s be honest, I daydream on a daily basis about finally getting my bachelors degree, getting to leave my job, and doing something more fulfilling.  But what if I got to leave my job and do, whatever I wanted? Well, I’d really want to go to all my favorite restaurants and eat whatever I wanted without gaining a pound and then go shopping at every store I wanted where everything I loved fit me and looked amazing. But this isn’t a magic world filled with unicorns and rainbows 24/7 where no one gains a lb for stuffing their faces (…yet).  If I could take a few months off from my life, that would be magical enough.  And I’d be crazy to actually stay in town.

I often envy the world travelers. I’m not sure how they make money to fund their travel, but I want to know how, and then do it.  Because I want to travel extensively.  I will get my chance in just a year or two to actually live this fantasy of taking a few months off to travel so consider this a preliminary itinerary of what I hope to accomplish.

I would walk across Westminster Bridge in London when it’s snowing. In a cute peacoat and beautiful scarf, preferably. I mean, I want to be a chic traveler, ok?

Photo by Jon Bower

Then I basically would do the same thing in Paris (except on Parisian bridges, of course). Then I’d visit the best bakeries in the world.

Photo by Haleigh Walsworth

I would soak up the sun and learn how to cook in Tuscany.

Photo by Jay Rogers

Then head to Rome to admire the architecture.

I would ride a bicycle through Amsterdam

Then I’d hop on down to southeast Asia and take a boat through ko phi phi in Thailand

Then fly on over to Osaka/Kyoto/Nara to visit Todai-Ji (temple) in Japan and subsequently stuff my face with okonomiyaki!

Of course, this is only a few months, not a year, so I can’t see everything; but this starting point does OK for now!

**

Blogtember Day 2: If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world, what would you do?

Leave a Reply

