I may be neurotic, but at least I have a sense of humor!

I must be in the minority now.  My parents were married when I was born and 26 years later they still are. Happily.  Granted, when my parents met each other they each had a daughter of their own (my half sisters) so it wasn’t like starting this family was their first crack at it.  But they got me out of the deal, so maybe I’m just magical.

My mom has to be one of the kindest people I know. She was raised by two Wyoming-ians who took manners and hard work seriously.  She never let me say I “hated” anything. She loves animals and laughing and talking.  Like my mother, I take manners and hard work seriously.  When it gets bad is with table manners. I will go absolutely insane inside if I can hear you eating your food.  It’s not even about someone “smacking” or chewing with their mouth open.  I will flip my shit if I can even hear any type of noise that you are ingesting something. If it’s someone I know (close friend or family member), I will give them the death stare as they eat by me.  If it is someone I’m not so comfortable with, I will turn my music up, try to make my own noise, or whatever before eventually passive-aggressively storming off. Thanks, Mom.

She also gave me the ability to freak out if I can’t find my keys or my phone or something else important in .247 seconds flat.  As much as I consciously try not to freak out because I know I hate it when my mom does — I still eventually do.

Then there is my dad.  I once heard my aunt call my dad “Mr. Congeniality”.  He can be really friendly, fun, and talkative.  On the other hand, he can be really blunt, abrasive, moody, and honest-to-a-fault. Sound Familiar?  I’ve never had trouble making friends (which I think I have both my dad and mom to thank for) but I have my moments of moody abrasiveness and honesty that can make people step back a few feet once in a while.

I also probably got my love for sports from my dad.  Things got complicated when my love of sports mixed with my hatred of annoying and inappropriate noises from people when I decided to play tennis in high school. Eventually, my friends and family members that would watch my matches knew when to shut up, but those who didn’t got a nice death stare from me before I would attempt to serve.  Oops…

I’m close with both of my parents so I feel like they’ve definitely had a big hand in who I am today and I notice the good and bad traits of theirs emerging from me every day.

A few weeks ago, while venting my frustrations over getting my abrasiveness from my dad and my neurotic behavior from my mom, she turned and said to me “Well, at least you got my sense of humor!”

Oh, well that makes it better.

 

*

Blogtember prompt #1: Describe where or what you come from. The people, the places, and/or the factors that make up who you are.

 

One thought on “I may be neurotic, but at least I have a sense of humor!

  1. Interesting. I’ve never consciously analysed where I got my behaviour traits from. I think I should do that. Btw, I hate noisy eaters too and I freak out at the drop of a hat both of which I got my from Mum too.

Leave a Reply

