If Fall had a middle name…

…I’d stand on my porch, clench my jaw and yell through my teeth:   FALL (MIDDLE NAME) SEASON! GET BACK HERE RIGHT. NOW!

I’m a huge fan of what I call “Middle Seasons”: Spring and Fall.  They get everything ready for winter and summer and give you just enough of each of those seasons to get you excited.  I like cold weather, but not too cold. Which makes fall perfect. I also like warm weather, but not too hot, which makes spring ideal.

Mid-Late August is when I really start to get excited for my favorite season: Fall. Just tonight we had a fall-esque storm roll through.  The wind picked up and the rain came down and it made me want to curl up on the couch with some soup and pumpkin bread while I watched my beloved Seahawks play.

There are many reasons why I love fall, but here are what make it the absolute best:

1. Clothes
Boots, Jackets, and Scarves are probably my most favorite items of clothing/accessories next to sunglasses.  Every year, my scarf collection grows; The problem is that leaves less time to wear each scarf!  I didn’t even get to wear them all last fall! Not to mention I already have my sights set on some new ones. Oh, the humanity.

Just a select few in my collection...can you tell what my favorite colors are?

Just a select few in my collection…can you tell what my favorite colors are?

2. Pumpkin
Seriously, who doesn’t like pumpkin?  If you don’t, well…I don’t even know what to do with you. Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin bread, pumpkin cupcakes, pumpkin pies, pumpkin cookies…pumpkin pumpkin pumpkin! Oh and pumpkin farms are cool. I love visiting pumpkin farms with corn mazes in the fall (there’s no shortage of those here in WA…).  I have some within 15 minutes of my house but of course my favorite happens to be almost an hour and a half south of where I live.

Oh y'know, just making pumpkin bread...

Oh y’know, just making pumpkin bread…

3. Football
Sea. Hawks. Enough said.

Seahawks.com

I love Richard Sherman for two reasons. 1. If I played football, I’d be a cornerback too (interceptions for dayyyys) and 2. He’s an instigator, like me. And funny. Like me.

4. Black Friday
It’s a holiday in it’s own right to me. In fact, I think I get more excited for Black Friday than Thanksgiving and Christmas combined. But I don’t get crazy about it like you might think (No midnight shopping for me…). It’s special to me because it’s become a tradition (8 years now!) for my bestie and me to kick off Christmas season together. We put on our boots and jackets, grab our favorite holiday drinks from Starbucks (the only day of the year I’ll allow myself an eggnog latte!) and head downtown to watch the Macy’s Holiday parade and do some light shopping and  lunch.  It’s nothing like the 3am doorbusting, sales hunting madness it is for most people, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

This was taken last black friday. We sat through FREEZING pouring rain for hours! Just for the sake of tradition!

This was taken last black friday. We sat through FREEZING pouring rain for hours! Just for the sake of tradition!

5.  Fall TV Premieres
From conditioning of grade school and college, fall has just become the time for new beginnings. Fall TV also adds to that nostalgic thought.  I always get excited for all my favorite new shows to start again and why not?  It’s cold and dark out by 5pm so might as well watch the brand new Big Bang Theory or Modern Family or Mindy Project.   And catch some new, potentially favorite, shows.  I’m intrigued by the new Sleepy Hollow series even though it looks like it could be really bad, but I’m a sucker for the Ichabod Crane and the Headless Horseman story. Always have been.

Technically in Seattle, we still probably have about four weeks of summer left but that hasn’t stopped me from making pumpkin bread and kept me from browsing the scarves and boots online.  If anything, I’m just hoping that if I start making myself believe it’s fall, that the universe will follow suit.

Lingering summer sunshine + crisp new fall air?  Yes please. Puh-leease.

2 thoughts on “If Fall had a middle name…

  1. Pingback: What’s up, B.uttercup? | This One B.

Leave a Reply

