What I’m Listening to Wednesday: The Return of Fall Out Boy

WILT Wednesdays are a lot like the retired “Tunesdays”, except on a day that’s not quite so busy music-wise.

My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up) – Fall Out Boy

At the height of their success, I hated Fall Out Boy.  Not because their music wasn’t good, (because it was fantastic) but because I was a hater.  Fall Out Boy was among many bands I had listened to and followed in my early years of high school.  When they reached popular success and everyone went crazy, I got in that cranky teenage-angst induced HaterRage.  Now, a few years wiser, I’m both happy for their success and happy to announce that after three inactive years, Fall Out Boy will be returning this May with a new album titled Save Rock and Roll.  In true Fall Out Boy fashion, the title of their first single off the album is strange and entirely too long.  “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light Em Up)also displays an anthemic quality that we’re used to seeing in Fall Out Boy.  While there are some obvious similarities, this song is also very different.  It strays from their previous work by adding a little more production, more bass, more beat, and dare I say a little more sass?  “My Songs Know What You Did” immediately gets your toe tapping followed by your head bobbing as if it were a hip-hop tune.  Before you’re mistaken, the guitar leads you in the right-rock direction while keeping your feet tapping and head bobbing.  If this single is any indication of how the rest of the album will be, I’ll be counting down the days until it’s released!

Leave a Reply

