So This is The New Year…

and I don’t feel any different.

Mmm.  Love me some Death Cab for Cutie! Anyway — yes.  It’s 2013.  WEIRD, right?  When I was a kid I thought in 2013 we’d have flying cars and stuff.  Shows you what a child of the nineties knew.  13 is generally considered an unlucky number but I have a feeling it might be a little better than 2012. 2012 had a solid good three months in the summer, but for the most part it was just a lot of drama and weirdness and being tired. It *did* teach me a lot, and it *did* hand me an acceptance letter I had been waiting for and it *did* bring a lot of great accomplishments and excitement for those close to me.

Last year I put down my “resolutions” here, and I thought I’d go over them and see what I did resolve to do, and which I completely chucked out the window.  The resolutions were as follows:

1. Exercise at least five days a week.

2. Be kinder, especially to family members.

3. Travel.

4. Be more selfless.

5. Make new friends.

Ok, so did I follow those? Not all. But some!

1.  I definitely didn’t exercise at least five days a week.  There were a lot of weeks I did none at all.  To put it bluntly, I blew this one big time.  Bad, B!

2. I definitely succeeded in this.  My patience was exercised a lot this year but I definitely built stronger and better relationships with family members.  Instead of wanting to immediately blow up when irritated, I’m learning to just roll with it.  In the end, it saves a lot of drama.

3. Travel, oh travel…you were completely lost on me this year.  I ended up cancelling the one trip I had planned in the beginning of 2012 for a few reasons and I definitely regret it.  The farthest I traveled was to the Gorge.  Being at the gorge was amazing, but I definitely planned to go farther.  L.A., San Fran, NYC, Chicago…I’ll get to you eventually.

4. I also think I accomplished being more selfless.  I made an effort to do nice things for others when I could and anytime something good came to me, I did my best to “pay it forward”.  Doing things like this make you feel so much better about yourself and what you’re doing.  It also restores your faith in people when you see it come back to you.

5.  This last one makes me laugh.  Within the first six months of the year I had essentially gained a new group of friends centered around already close friends.  At the end of the year I had completely lost them.  Am I sad? No.  Most of the reason they’re gone is because I decided they needed to be.  See, the older I get the less tolerant I become of people’s antics.  I make mistakes, and I fully admit to my mistakes but when people do hurtful things behind your back instead of being honest with you about it — that’s a problem.  I am far too old to keep people in my life who are one way to my face, which allows me to trust them, and then try to ruin my life behind my back.  At 24 (almost 25) it’s disgusting to even think about meddling in others business, but when grown men older than me are doing it then forget it.  I am not going to spend my time trying to make an effort to be friends with people who only pretend to be my friend.  I’m not in high school anymore.

Because I’m still in school and balancing that with work, I’m sure 2013 will bring a few more rollercoasters, but at least I’m learning to manage them better and know when to just walk away.  I’m becoming stronger as a person and I’m really proud of myself for that.  I’m still going to try to keep the resolution to travel, and modifying the exercise resolution by running a 5k and trying to drop 4 pant sizes by next NYE (I definitely think this one is attainable within one year), continue to be kinder, be selfless (but ALSO put me first when it comes to personal goals and my health: mental & physical), and make new friends.

I’ll leave you with my personal anthem for 2013 – Anything Could Happen!

4 thoughts on “So This is The New Year…

  1. I think with age we find that the amount of friends we have don’t matter, but the quality of those friends… its good you gave those people a chance if for no other reason but to look back and think thank the lord they are no longer a part of my life. I had a friend, who was a horrible horrible person. We had a party at her house (admittedly I was only friends with her for that house and the fact that she let me throw as many parties as I wanted to since I was 23 and living at home… we were assholes to each other I guess), but I realized I didn’t want to associate with her anymore the day she asked me to pick a movie to show at the party and as I lay down on her floor looking at her movie selection she jumped on my back, wrapped her arm around my neck and began chocking me because I had read the wrong movie title out loud to her. Like she owned the movie and she was flipping the fuck out about it. I don’t know that was the last day I ever spoke to her which is impressive because we worked together.

    I think you should travel! It is hard with work and school… maybe a study abroad program?

    • Wow. She sounds like a psychopath. Luckily I’ve never had a friend physical be an asshole to me, but I think that would make it easier in some weird sense.

      I have been looking at study abroad programs. One reason is because I still have one quarter left to take of Japanese to fulfill my major’s language requirements OR I could study abroad to earn it. I’d much rather do the latter.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • Wow if you could go to Japan that would be pretty badass. You should go to your schools study abroad coordinator. I went last semester; I was unable to go abroad because I didn’t get my letter of recommendation in time, but I wasn’t that daring to go to Japan in fact I was going to try for Ireland. I would love to go anywhere they sent me, but I got a bit freaked out when the lady drilled home if you don’t know the language you will not succeed in school.

        The girl was nuts-balls-crazy; she was very physically aggressive and thought she was better than everyone else. I very much disliked her but I maintained the “friendship” for my own selfish reasons, she is the only person I have ever done that with or to, but I can honestly say the happiest day of my life was the day I stopped talking to her. It is easier to have a “friend” that is physical with you because you know that breaking ties is the best for you both, rather than hear through the grapevine your friends are really not your friends.

  2. Well, I don’t necessarily have to go to Japan. Within my program (communications) there is a study abroad program in Rome that is taught in English (my school has a building in Rome, actually!). You also take an intensive class in Italian alongside your courses, because a lot of it revolves around observing communication in Italy. Rome is in my top-three must-see places so the idea of that has me pretty stoked!

Leave a Reply

