Tunesday, May 22, 2012

All Along the Watchtower by Jimi Hendrix

The song “All Along the Watchtower” has to be one of my favorite songs because it originated by one of my all-time favorites, Bob Dylan then remade by the great Jimi Hendrix and then remade by my favorite of favorites, Dave Matthews. I love all versions in their own way.

Hendrix, however, always makes me think of summer.  In my American Pop class, we’ve been going over psychedelic rock and of course Hendrix is in that mix of artists to discuss.  That being said, I thought this was a perfect time to use him for my countdown to summer Tunesday.

Also, every year on the 4th of July, it’s practically mandatory in my family to play his version of Star Spangled Banner. Maybe this Independence Day, I’ll actually visit ol’ Jimi at his grave site to pay a little homage. Maybe Dave will join me (I wish).  I love living in Seattle.

Happy Tunesday, everyone!

One thought on “Tunesday, May 22, 2012

Leave a Reply

