Foodie Friday: B.’s First Veg-Friendly White Bean Salad

A few weeks before I decided to fully immerse myself into the meatless lifestyle, I had gone to Metropolitan Market in Kirkland to grab some things for lunch.  One of the things I grabbed was a white bean salad.  I thought that it was so tasty (and obviously packed with tons of nutrients) that I told myself I’d try to recreate it during Meatless May.  So last weekend while grocery shopping I gathered all the ingredients I could remember (and some others I decided to add) to take home and cook.  Sidenote:  I’ve never spent so much time in the produce section of a store nor has a grocery shopping experience ended with more produce bags than any other item time — cool!

Overall, I was happy!  It was really tasty and did the trick for filling me up for lunch for a few days.  The meatiness of the beans and the crunchiness of peppers and onions gave it really good texture.  I had also originally planned to cook my own beans, but I was in a hurry and had to used the canned stuff. I also had planned on using corn but forgot to buy it!  Next time!  This recipe is easy to change up to whatever your liking.  Alas, my White Bean Salad recipe:

You’ll need:
olive oil
apple cider vinegar
balsamic vinegar
can of cannelini beans, drained/rinsed/drained
couple small cloves of garlic, chopped
1 medium tomato, diced
1 small red onion, diced
3 green onions, chopped
1 or 2 bell peppers (any color), diced
1/2 lime, juice of
salt
pepper

I first put a small amount of olive oil (no more than a Tbs, if even that) into a pan of medium high heat and added the garlic.  After I drained and rinsed the beans, I added them stirring occasionally while letting them to sit there for about 5 minutes before taking them off the heat and letting them cool.

In another bowl I put the chopped onions, balsamic vinegar and apple cider together just a few minutes to let the onions soak up the vinegar.  A few minutes later, the tomatoes were added, and then once they were cool – the beans.

After mixing the ingredients together I squeezed in the lime juice and then added salt and pepper to taste.  If you put in too much vinegar for your mixture like I did, you can probably strain it out.

This salad was tasty the minute it was done but it was a little better the next day when it had some time to soak in the flavor and the crunchiness of the onions and peppers still prevalent.

You’ll have to trust me that it tastes so much better than it looks!!

Happy Friday and have a good weekend, all! For those of you who live in the northwest — enjoy the gorgeous weather up ahead for this weekend!!

Leave a Reply

