Tunesday, April 24, 2012

Someday, Right Now by Mustard Plug

In the summer between my 7th and 8th grade, I made my first “mixed tape” AKA a burned CD w/ a collection of songs, meant for someone.

I’ve always loved music but between the ages of 12-17 I was hugely engrossed in the music scene.  I saw live bands as much as possible (granted they were playing all ages shows).  And spent most of the time I did have on the internet (dial-up!) looking up bands websites or downloading music off Napster (before it got lame and made you pay).  My friend Eli (name changed, as always) was just as much a music freak as I was and he was the only kid I knew that listened to the same music I did (mostly punk and pop-punk that I stole from my sister’s vast collection).  We spent a lot of time together that summer going to shows or just hanging out — we were pretty good friends. Before Eli and I had even become friends, I thought he was cute.  Being as boy crazy as I was, when we became good friends I ended up developing a crush on him which led me to making the mix CD.

Eli was always burning me CDs of new music, and that summer he got me turned on to Ska-Punk.  All summer long we listened to the Hippos, Less than Jake, Save Ferris and today’s Tunesday band – Mustard Plug.  Who even knows Mustard Plug? A Facebook poll showed no takers.  Either way, I remember this song was on that mix CD that never actually made it into the hands of Eli out of sheer embarrassment of never doing it before.  Besides, I had no idea how he was going to react – what if he didn’t feel the same way?

A couple years later when Eli and I were in high school (and he had been actively pursuing my best friend at the time), we were leaving a show and talking about this friend.  In the middle of talking about her, he stopped me to tell me that he wanted to ask me out that summer, and that he’s sorry he never did.  All I could do at this point was laugh because of all the worrying I had done back then, and the fact that I had no interest in him what-so-ever anymore so the thought of dating weirded me out a little bit.

Who knows, if we had dated I may not have had a partner to go see live music with for a few more years until I found more friends who were into the same music?  We did end up drifting a bit as we got older and our styles changed.  Last I saw of him he was riding his bicycle down the street in his slim jeans, ironic t-shirt and shaggy hair cut – still hip as ever.

Leave a Reply

