“Yellow Fever” is Not a Crime, You Racist!

It’s a sunny and mild day in Seattle and I’ve just taken a tour with a few close friends and a relative of the close friends.  We’re talking about everything under the sun when randomly the conversation turns.  I know where it’s headed because I’ve listened to this conversation and the subsequent interrogation for years — at least 10!

“Brittany…likes Asian guys.” My friend says to her relative – someone I’ve only known

You don't think he's sexy!?

for say, 45 minutes? The relative smiles awkwardly not knowing how to respond while my friends laugh hysterically.  I, like always, roll my eyes and get a little huffy.

If I had a dime for each time friends of mine (Asian-American and otherwise) exclaimed my preference of Asian men over others to other friends or sometimes complete strangers, I would be a millionaire.

Among my friends and those who grew up with me, it’s widely known that *most* of the men I find attractive are Asian, but this does not mean that I think *most* Asian men are attractive.  Just like I don’t think *most* men of the globe are attractive!

I get so irritated when people think it’s important enough to point out. It’s not like I see a man walking down the street and yell “Hey! See that guy! He’s a MAN! He (probably) has a penis! You like him?? Eh Eh? Jump him! Jump him now!” Because that’s insane! To believe I get hot and bothered over every Asian male that passes me is ridiculous, too!

Then come the questions.  Even my bestest and Asian-est of friends have all scrutinized: Why do you find so many Asian men attractive? Why do you like Asian guys? How long have you? What is it about them that draws you to them? I don’t get it!

Well, newsflash: I don’t get it either! Do any of us know why we prefer a certain hair or eye color? Do any of us know why we prefer a certain build (you can claim natural selection but I know some girls prefer skinny guys as opposed to broader built ones) or detest another hair color/eye color/build? We just do!

As far as how long, I don’t know either.  It could have been when I started chasing a Nguyen around the playground at recess in Kindergarten or when I had a crush on a Kim in the 4th grade.  I just don’t know.

How can anyone not think he's adorable?!

So what if I’ve had crushes on Tran’s, Do’s, Ham’s, Hwang’s, Kang’s, Wang’s, Chau’s, Suzuki’s, Lee’s, Moon’s and everything in between? So what my first boyfriend was a Ngo and the last guy I dated was a Park? And so what if my biggest actor crush is John Cho and my biggest (retired) athlete crush is Hidetoshi Nakata (he was in a Calvin Klein ad for Pete’s sake!)?? They are/were all beautiful men and in the 21st century, I have hard time believing that we still care about the fact I prefer a race that isn’t my own instead of how good looking they are. Amiright?

P.S.: I thought I’d do a whole stream of photos of my favorites but you might die from all the sexy and I’d implode from all the sexy, too. But feel free to look up Brian Tee, Yul Kwon, Philip Wang (of WongFu Productions), David Choi and Joseph Vincent for some incredible inside-and-out beautiful Asian/Pacific Islander-American men.

P.S.S.: Just to be clear, I do not condone the usage of “Yellow Fever”, it is merely a joke on those who still do.

13 thoughts on ““Yellow Fever” is Not a Crime, You Racist!

  1. I can’t speak to Asian men or whether they are attractive or not, however, I can speak to making my friends and wife uncomfortable by saying things to strangers. For example, I’ve met a few of my wife’s high school friends and the first question I ask is whether she was a whore in high school. It’s amazing to watch them try to figure out if I’m being sarcastic (I am) or if I’m weird (I guess I am that too). So what I’m saying is, if I knew you in real life I would probably point out a lot of really fat, old or ugly Asian men for you and try to “help” you pick them up. It’s just kind of my style.

    • I suppose you’re right. I love doing things like that because I get the maximum amount of amusement and enjoyment out of it while everyone else is uncomfortable or pissed off. Might be why some of them do it.

      I could always spout off a few random facts to said strangers, too!

    • Yeah I’m speaking more along the lines of things that stick with people forever. Because in a few years scene/indie girls you know won’t be the hipster thing anymore (in fact, I’m sure it’s seeing it’s way out).

      I loved “skaters” in middle school, and “jocks” in high school and “hipster” boys in the beginning of college and I still have a soft spot for guys who wear beanies and have tattoos but eventually they’ll all grow out of it (except the tattoos). Or my taste will change but I think I’ll always be most attracted to an Asian-American with a good jaw line and a little confidence. Doesn’t necessarily mean that’s who I’ll end up with though!

  2. Well Asians guys probably carry the most negative stigmas out of almost any race, although Middle Eastern now gives us a run for our money. It’s funny that Asian women are easily mainstream but Asian guys aren’t. I think that has a lot to do with the fact that the country as a whole has followed a patriarchial model, and the men up top had “Yellow Fever” for quite a long time! But for the most part, Asians, as a whole aren’t really seen as American. They’re either seen as lesser or foreign.

    Case and point, there’s some panel discussions among NYC theaters and Broadway big wigs over here on the East coast about how Asians are the most under represented race on the stage, even though they are the fastest growing minority group in the US. So if Hollywood imitates real life then by that standard Asian actors should be in the growing populace. But they’re not. The majority of Asian actors in movies involve Asian actors in Asia coupled with other Asians. I think that’s pretty telling. So really I think we have a bit further to go before we start breaking out of this category we’re in right now. But in the meantime…I’ll settle for being the bad boy that girls can’t tell their mama about. 😉

    • Hah! My parents are more used to seeing Asians in tow with me than white people so it’s no big deal to them. In fact, at my cousin’s high school graduation (he lives in a town north of where I live that’s more rural and in turn, more white) my parents looked around and my dad said “Is it just me or..” and my mom finished with “is there a lot of white people here?” I laughed hysterically with both amusement and a little pride that my parents had thought a little differently because of me.

      I’ve been saying for years that Hollywood seriously needs to up the representation of Asian-Americans but it could also be that less Asian-Americans are trying to get into the arts?

      It’s what I love, and have always loved about WongFu because they’re an Asian-American group using Asian-American actors and talent but they’re not inherently “all about Asians”. And they’re certainly not following stereotypes that have been beaten to a pulp.

      • Well I’m not exactly sure about the numbers because…well I don’t have the time or the inclination to do anything to numbers except add them to my bank account, but it’s not an intentional bias. It’s more like an unconscious reaction to something that was ingrained. Like for instance I don’t think a raven haired, barrel chested guy will ever get the part of Mark in RENT. Why? Cause he was originally played as a skinny red head white boy with glasses. It just doesn’t visually make sense to the director, and they never really try to deviate from that because either they think it’ll make the audience too conscious of the difference, or they themselves are too aware of the difference.

        It’s a really weird system, but no matter what, they have to suck it up and break the mold they’ve created. It’s getting to be way too obvious! I remember watching the Last Samurai and going “Wait wait wait…so the last samurai is a white boy!?” I cracked up hysterically.

      • Yeah. Hopefully as the Asian-American population grows even more, we can see better representation. Not because the population isn’t already great but because it’ll probably take the big-wigs some time to notice how big of a community they are and that they aren’t something to be stereotyped. I’m starting to see it more and more but it’ll take a while before it’s regular I think. 😦

        I’m so glad I never watched the Last Samurai.

        I do have to hand it to movies like “Better Luck Tomorrow” because sure, it’s glaringly obvious they use stereotypes in the beginning, you see them severely (and yeah, maybe a little over dramatically) broken throughout. But it’s the only movie I can think of that has an all Asian-American cast that doesn’t take place in Asia decades ago.

      • Yes. Directed by Justin Lin (who suggests the character Han from the fast & the furious series is the Han in this movie).

  3. Pingback: Tunesday, March 6: Spotlight | This One B.

Leave a Reply

